If A-1 rolls with the ball after diving, how should the official interpret this action according to game rules?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The action described involves a player, A-1, who has dived for the ball and subsequently rolls while in possession of it. According to the rules of basketball, when a player is on the floor while maintaining possession of the ball, they can execute movement such as rolling without being penalized for traveling, provided they did not lose possession during their roll.

In this case, rolling while holding the ball is interpreted as a continuation of their effort to maintain control. Since the player has secured the ball, the official recognizes that this maneuver does not constitute a violation. The key factor is that the player is still in possession; thus, it is seen as a legal play rather than a traveling violation, which would require the player to take too many steps without dribbling or to move pivot foots improperly.

Understanding this nuance helps officials correctly allow for fluidity in play, particularly in scenarios involving falls or dives, acknowledging that players must have the opportunity to regain their stance and continue the play without being prematurely penalized.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy