If A-1 makes a basket after being fouled by A-2, is the basket allowed according to the official?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the situation where A-1 makes a basket after being fouled by A-2, the critical aspect to focus on is whether the foul by A-2 was a shooting foul. According to the rules, to count the basket in this scenario, A-1 must have been fouled while in the act of shooting. If the foul is determined to be a non-shooting foul, then the basket would not count.

For the basket to be counted, a shooting foul needs to be established. If A-2 fouled A-1 during the playing action leading up to the shot, but not while A-1 was in the shooting motion, then the basket is invalidated. Therefore, the basket does not count unless the foul is categorized as a shooting foul, confirming that a successful shot followed by a foul should lead to free throws, not an automatic basket credit.

This is why the correct understanding in this context is that the basket is ruled out unless the foul occurred during the act of shooting, which turns the outcome in favor of disallowing the basket in this instance.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy