If A-1 is wrongly told they should take two free throws instead of three, what happens if they score?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario described, if A-1 is mistakenly instructed to take two free throws instead of three, the rules dictate that any error regarding the number of free throws is significant enough that it must be rectified as soon as it is recognized. If a referee realizes the mistake after the attempt is made, the correct procedure is to cancel the attempts that were taken under incorrect assumptions.

The essence of this rule is to maintain the integrity of the game, ensuring that all aspects of play align with the established regulations. Since A-1 was told to take the wrong number of free throws, if the error is noted, the referees have the responsibility to enforce the correct action as per the rulebook. This ensures that all teams compete under the same rules and that players are given fair and correct opportunities to score during the game.

This principle emphasizes the importance of adhering to the official rules during gameplay, thus making it necessary for referees to act promptly when such discrepancies arise.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy