If A-1 is mistakenly awarded a one-and-one that is later recognized as an error, what must happen?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 is mistakenly awarded a one-and-one free throw opportunity, if this error is later recognized, it's important to understand how basketball rules address such situations. The correct response indicates that the points scored as a result of the free throw will not be canceled, even after the mistake is acknowledged.

In basketball officiating, when a player is given a free throw opportunity incorrectly, the scoring from that attempt stands if the referee determines that the error was recognized after the shot has been taken and executed. This reflects the principle that once a play is completed and points are scored, those points generally remain valid unless there is a very clear delineation of rules stating otherwise, such as an infraction that nullifies the score itself.

This means that if A-1 makes the free throw or the shot during this one-and-one situation, the resulting points will be counted because the rules do not typically allow for retroactive annulment of points after they have been scored, even if the method of awarding the free throw was improper.

Therefore, in basketball officiating, recognizing an error in awarding free throws involves clear procedures, but it does not imply that the scoring outcome is automatically voided. The focus tends to be on maintaining the integrity of play and ensuring

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy