If A-1 is in the act of shooting and A-2 fouls B-2 before the ball is in flight, what should the official rule?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this situation, when A-1 is in the act of shooting and A-2 fouls B-2 before the ball has left A-1's hands, the official would rule that the goal is disallowed for Team A. This ruling is based on the principle that a foul committed by Team A (in this case, A-2) during a shooting attempt disrupts the play. Since the foul occurred before the shot was taken and influenced the play, it negates any potential score that A-1 may have achieved if the shot had subsequently been successful.

Furthermore, the rules dictate that the opposing team, Team B, should gain possession of the ball as a result of the foul. Hence, the failure to recognize the importance of the timing of the foul and the state of the ball (which was not yet in flight) emphasizes the ruling that the goal does not count and Team B receives the ball. This ensures that the penalty for the foul is appropriately applied and upholds the integrity of the game by penalizing the infringements of the rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy