If A-1 is fouled by B-2 while in the act of shooting and continues to score, what should the official do?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the situation where A-1 is fouled by B-2 while in the act of shooting and still manages to score, the correct action for the official is to count the goal and penalize the foul. This is based on the principle that if a player is fouled during the act of shooting and successfully makes a basket, the scoring of the goal takes precedence. The foul committed by B-2 is recognized, and A-1 is awarded a free throw as a result.

Counting the goal acknowledges the successful play despite the foul, which is consistent with basketball rules that aim to reward successful offensive efforts. The foul must still be addressed, therefore the official will also assess a penalty against B-2. This understanding fosters the flow of the game, allowing players to take advantage of plays when they successfully score amidst fouls.

Other options present scenarios that either incorrectly impose penalties on the shooter or do not acknowledge the scoring despite the foul, which does not align with the established rules of play during a shooting attempt.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy