If A-1 is awarded free throws and a double personal foul occurs while the first free throw is in flight, how should the official resume play?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player is awarded free throws and a double personal foul occurs while the first free throw is in flight, the established procedure is to allow the free throw sequence to continue. This means that A-1 is allowed to complete their first free throw attempt, regardless of the double foul.

Once the first free throw is completed, the rules specify that A-1 will be awarded the second free throw as well. After A-1 has taken both free throws, the play resumes according to the situation on the court at that time. This handling ensures that the player gets a fair chance to complete not only the free throw they were originally awarded but also takes into account the typical outcome of a double personal foul, which does not negate the free throw opportunity granted to the player.

In essence, the reasoning behind allowing A-1 to take the second free throw and then proceeding to resume play reflects the structure of the rules designed to ensure fair play and proper flow during the game. This situation highlights the importance of understanding how various fouls affect free throw scenarios and the need for officials to remain attuned to the game's rules when managing the flow of play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy