If A-1 intentionally goes out of bounds to maneuver around a screen, should the official call a violation?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, players must maintain their position on the court and adhere to the boundaries established by the playing area. If a player goes out of bounds intentionally, like A-1 in this scenario, it is treated as a violation, regardless of the reason for stepping out. The rule is designed to ensure that players remain in a defined playing area to maintain fairness and safety during the game.

When A-1 intentionally aims to maneuver around a screen by stepping out of bounds, this action disrupts the flow of the game and contravenes the rules governing player positioning. The official's responsibility is to enforce the rules, and intentional actions that disrupt play warrant a call. As a result, in this situation, the official should call a violation for A-1's actions.

The other options suggest conditions or exceptions that do not apply, as the intentional act of going out of bounds alone constitutes a violation without needing additional factors like touching the ball or affecting the play. The intent behind A-1's action is sufficient for a call to be made.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy