If A-1 fumbles the ball after ending a dribble and then catches it with both hands to dribble again, is this considered an illegal dribble?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 fumbles the ball after ending a dribble, the act of catching the ball with both hands and attempting to dribble again constitutes an illegal dribble. According to basketball rules, once a player has dribbled the ball and then stops by holding it, they are not allowed to start a new dribble again until they have passed, shot, or been touched by another player. The key aspect here is that catching the ball after a dribble is effectively equivalent to receiving a pass, and starting another dribble after doing so violates the established rules for dribbling.

This is a fundamental rule aimed at maintaining the flow of the game and ensuring that players do not gain an unfair advantage by dribbling more than once after ceasing dribble motion. Understanding this rule is crucial for officiating and playing the game correctly.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy