If A-1 drops the ball to the floor to start a dribble after seeing their shot will be blocked, is it a traveling violation if the official rules it as such?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player drops the ball to the floor to start a dribble, this action is permitted as part of the dribbling process, provided that there are no other violations occurring at the same time. However, if the player has not established a normal dribbling motion before dropping the ball, and if they are still considered to be in possession of the ball when it is dropped, it could indeed be ruled as a traveling violation.

This scenario typically arises when a player drops the ball in an attempt to avoid a blocked shot, which can indicate that they have made a movement or gesture that suggests they are still in possession of the ball. Therefore, if the official deems that A-1 dropped the ball while holding it or without establishing a dribble, ruling it a traveling violation aligns with the rules concerning possession and traveling.

This interpretation is consistent with the rules of basketball, which require that a player must not take steps without dribbling the ball once they have fully established possession. Thus, if the official rules it as such, they are following the guidance provided by the rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy