If A-1 commits a common foul while A-1 is passing to A-2, what type of foul is ruled by the official?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The correct answer is a common foul. In this scenario, A-1 is in the process of passing the ball when the foul occurs. A common foul is any foul that is not of a special type, such as a technical foul or an offensive foul. Since A-1's action of making a pass does not grant them player control of the ball, a player control foul would not be applicable. Instead, the play simply results in a common foul against A-1.

Therefore, the common foul is appropriately ruled, given that no violation of player control has occurred at the moment of the foul, and both teams will continue to play, with the fouled player's team retaining the right to a throw-in unless the foul count results in a different action.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy