If A-1 brushes against B-1 who is touching the boundary line, is it correct for the official to rule A-1 out of bounds?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 brushes against B-1, who is in contact with the boundary line, the official should rule that A-1 is not out of bounds. This is because a player is only considered out of bounds if they have one foot completely outside the boundary line or if they are the last player to touch the ball while being out of bounds. In this scenario, since B-1 is already touching the boundary line, they are considered out of bounds. However, A-1's action of brushing against B-1 doesn't result in A-1 being out of bounds, as they have not themselves crossed any boundary lines.

This understanding is important in officiating, as it clarifies instances of contact between players regarding out-of-bounds rulings, ensuring that the correct calls are made based on player positions and actions. Thus, the emphasis here is on the definition of out-of-bounds in relation to the actions and positions of the players involved.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy