During an interrupted dribble, if A-1 commits a common foul on B-1, is it correct for the official to rule it a player control foul?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario presented, when a player commits a common foul during an interrupted dribble, it is not considered a player control foul. A player control foul typically occurs when a player with the ball commits a foul, which is not the case when the dribble is interrupted. In this situation, the dribble is no longer in progress, and B-1 is not in a position of player control over A-1; thus, A-1's foul cannot be classified as a player control foul.

The reasoning is that player control fouls are solely tied to the player who has actual possession of the ball executing a dribble and is actively in motion. Since the dribble was interrupted, the criteria for labeling the foul as a player control foul are not met. The call would instead be treated as a common foul, leading to the correct response that the official should not rule it a player control foul.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy