During an interrupted dribble, if A-1 inadvertently steps on the boundary line and then touches the ball, is the official correct in ruling this a violation?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario presented, the ruling is based on the concept of control and the specific interpretation of an interrupted dribble in basketball. When a player has an interrupted dribble, they do not have control of the ball if they inadvertently step on the boundary line and then touch it again.

For a violation to occur, the player must be deemed to have control of the ball at the time they touch it. Since A-1 stepped on the boundary line, they are considered to be out of bounds. Consequently, when they touch the ball while being out of bounds, they have not regained control. Therefore, the official is correct in ruling that there is no violation concerning A-1 touching the ball at this point. The lack of control during this interruption effectively negates the possibility of a violation being called.

In contrast, the other options suggest scenarios where control is either misinterpreted or assumed. Understanding control during play and how physical boundaries affect the rules is crucial for accurate officiating.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy