During an interrupted dribble, if A-1 fouls B-1, how should the official rule?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the situation where A-1 fouls B-1 during an interrupted dribble, the correct ruling is to call it a personal foul. When a player commits a foul while the ball is in play, and the dribble has been interrupted (which means that the player has stopped dribbling but has not yet lost ball control), the foul is treated as a personal foul against the player who commits the infraction. This ruling is consistent with the rules governing personal fouls, where contact that gives an unfair advantage or disadvantage is penalized.

Calling a player control foul would only apply if the player was dribbling and then committed a foul against a defender, which is not the case here. A no-call would imply that there was no infraction, which does not apply since a foul occurred. A technical foul typically relates to unsportsmanlike conduct rather than fouls committed during normal play. Therefore, the best interpretation of the rules in this scenario leads to the conclusion that a personal foul is the correct call.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy