During an alternating possession throw-in, if A-2 is fouled by B-2, what should the official do?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario presented, if A-2 is fouled by B-2 during an alternating possession situation, the correct action is for Team A to retain possession and the arrow to stay the same. This is because the alternating possession rule is designed to ensure fairness in instances where ball possession may alternate between teams. When a foul occurs during an alternating possession throw-in, it does not change the sequence of possession or the direction indicated by the possession arrow.

The reasoning here is that since Team A was already designated to possess the ball during the alternating possession sequence, the foul by B-2 does not influence that determination. As a result, Team A keeps possession of the ball for the ensuing throw-in, and the possession arrow remains pointing in the same direction it originally was. This keeps the integrity of the alternating possession system intact, ensuring that possession changes only when warranted by the rules outside of foul occurrences during a throw-in.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy