During a play, can a player who was the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt catch it again in the backcourt?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

A player who was the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt cannot catch it again in the backcourt because this action constitutes a violation known as a backcourt violation. According to basketball rules, once the ball has crossed the midcourt line into the backcourt, the offensive team is not allowed to be the first to touch it again after it has crossed back into the backcourt from the frontcourt. This rule is in place to maintain the flow and fairness of the game, preventing a team from regaining possession after the ball has crossed into a restricted area.

The other options, while they may seem plausible in certain game scenarios, do not align with the established rules concerning backcourt violations. For example, the idea that a player could retrieve the ball quickly or during a jump ball does not apply, as the core rule regarding possession change and backcourt play still stands. The principle behind these rules is to promote orderly play and prevent teams from exploiting positional advantages after the ball has crossed into the backcourt.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy