During a dribble, A-1 jumps off one foot and lands on both feet before starting another dribble. Is this a legal play according to the rules?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The interpretation of the situation hinges on the rules surrounding dribbling and traveling violations in basketball. According to these rules, a player who jumps while dribbling must either return to the ground with one foot to continue the dribble or, if they land on both feet, they cannot initiate another dribble until they have established a legal position, typically having dribbled the ball again while in control.

In this scenario, when A-1 jumps off one foot and lands on both feet, they effectively come to a stop. Once a player has landed on both feet, they must either perform a legal pass or shot or they risk committing a traveling violation if they attempt to dribble again. Landing on two feet signifies the player has ended their dribble. Thus, starting another dribble without first passing or shooting constitutes a violation.

Therefore, since A-1 has jumped and landed with both feet, attempting a new dribble would not be allowed under the rules, making it an illegal play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy