Can the official rule a dribble to be legal if A-1 regains control of the ball after it bounces off B-1's body?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, a dribble is considered legal as long as the player remains in control of the ball and there's no violation committed during the process. In this scenario, when A-1's dribble causes the ball to bounce off B-1's body and A-1 subsequently regains control of the ball, it is still deemed a legal dribble.

The key factor is that the player must maintain their dribble without any interruption. Since the ball is rebounding off an opponent's body rather than illicitly gaining possession through other means (like a held ball or traveling), A-1's regained control does not break the continuity of the dribble. Thus, this situation falls under the rules that allow a player to continue dribbling after contact with the opponent, as the ball is not out of play nor has A-1 lost control in a manner that would constitute a violation.

This principle highlights situational aspects of play where contact with an opponent does not disrupt a legal maneuver. Overall, this reinforces the understanding that players can still be in control of the ball after it has incidentally made contact with others during the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy