Can A-1 request a timeout after jumping to save the ball, even if out of bounds?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, a player must be in bounds to request a timeout. If A-1 jumps to save the ball and is out of bounds while doing so, their request for a timeout should be denied because they are not considered to be in a playable position on the court. The rules stipulate that a player can only request a timeout when they are on the court and in control of the ball within the boundaries of the playing area.

This principle reinforces the importance of maintaining the integrity of the game, ensuring that players are acting within the designated playing area when making decisions that can affect the flow of the game. A timeout is intended to provide a moment for teams to regroup and strategize, and allowing such a request from an out-of-bounds situation could lead to confusion and disrupt the game's order. Therefore, the correct stance is that the official must deny the request when A-1 is out of bounds.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy