B-1 fouls A-1, making it the seventh foul of the half. If A-1 huddles with the coach and fails to enter the semi-circle, is the official right to use the resumption of play procedure?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The situation presented involves a scenario where B-1 commits a seventh foul of the half, warranting the use of the bonus free throw rule for team A. When A-1 huddles with the coach and does not enter the semi-circle to attempt the free throw, it is a violation of the required procedure for a player to be ready to participate in the game.

In basketball officiating, the resumption of play is typically employed when a situation needs to be addressed without delay. However, when a player is not ready or fails to comply with the norms of entering the proper area, the official cannot simply apply the resumption of play procedure without the player participating appropriately. It is expected that the players are prepared to take their turn as required, and any failure to do so does not fall under a resumption of play scenario but rather indicates a violation that needs addressing.

Thus, the official is not within the correct procedural guidelines to use the resumption of play in this instance, affirming that the decision made aligns correctly with the rules governing player conduct during such situations.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy