After a score, does A-2 have the right to kick the ball during a throw-in by B-1?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the context of basketball rules, when a score occurs, the ball automatically becomes the possession of the team that did not score, in this case, Team B. During the subsequent throw-in by Team B, players from Team A (including A-2) are required to respect the established throw-in procedure.

Kicking the ball during the throw-in by B-1 isn't allowed because the primary objective of the throw-in is to ensure a clear opportunity for Team B to gain possession of the ball. Any actions that disrupt this process, such as kicking the ball, can lead to a turnover. When A-2 kicks the ball during the throw-in, it is considered a violation of the rules governing throw-ins. Thus, possession would be awarded to Team B for the ongoing play, reinforcing the importance of maintaining fair play during such situations.

As a result, the correct conclusion is that the action taken by A-2 leads to a turnover, allowing Team B to continue its play without interference.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy