A thrower-in A-1 reaches through the plane of the boundary line and shoves defender B-1 prior to releasing the ball. Is the official correct to call this a player control foul?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In the scenario described, the action of A-1, the thrower-in, reaching through the plane of the boundary line to shove defender B-1 prior to releasing the ball, constitutes illegal contact. For a throw-in, players are allowed to step over the boundary line to retrieve the ball but cannot make contact with an opposing player in a way that would constitute a foul.

This specific act of shoving while still in the throw-in situation is not classified as a player control foul. Player control fouls typically occur during active gameplay when a player with the ball commits a personal foul against a defender. In this context, A-1 has not yet released the ball for play, meaning they are not considered to be in active play yet. Therefore, the official would correctly assess the situation as not constituting a player control foul. As such, the action disrupts the proper conduct of the throw-in process and would be addressed under different rules related to throw-in violations rather than being labeled as a player control foul.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy