A-2 taps the ball after A-1 scores to hinder team B's throw-in. Is the official correct to issue a warning for delay?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, A-2's action of tapping the ball after A-1 scores is considered a delay of game. The rules state that once a team scores, the opposing team (in this case, team B) is entitled to a throw-in to resume play, and any action that interferes with this process can be penalized to ensure the game proceeds smoothly. By tapping the ball, A-2 is intentionally trying to disrupt team B's ability to initiate the throw-in, which constitutes a delay.

Issuing a warning for delay is appropriate here as it serves to inform team A that such actions are not permissible and helps maintain the flow of the game. This warning is a common approach before applying more severe penalties for repeated infractions. Thus, the official's decision to issue a warning is consistent with the rules regarding player conduct and game management.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy