A-2 steps into the lane before A-1 shoots a free throw but retreats in time. Did the official rule correctly by calling a violation?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, the official's ruling should be considered incorrect because A-2 stepping into the lane, but then retreating before the free throw is taken, does not constitute a violation. According to basketball rules, the lane is only considered occupied by players once the free throw shooter has begun their shooting motion and the ball has not yet been released. Since A-2 stepped into the lane but retracted before A-1 released the free throw, there was no actual violation.

A violation would only occur if A-2 remained in the lane when A-1 attempted the free throw. Thus, the official's decision to call a violation in this case is not supported by the rules, which emphasize that players must be set correctly before the free throw attempt, and since A-2 was not in the lane when the shot was taken, the play remains valid.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy