A-2 catches a throw-in and then lands in the backcourt. What is the ruling?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-2 catches a throw-in and then lands in the backcourt, it is considered a legal play. According to basketball rules, a player may catch the ball while in the frontcourt and then land in the backcourt without committing a backcourt violation, as long as they do not establish themselves in the backcourt before the ball is in their possession. A-2’s catch occurs during the throw-in, and the player has the right to land in the backcourt thereafter.

In this scenario, since no action occurred that would constitute a violation, such as being the first player to touch the ball after it had crossed into the backcourt, the play is deemed legal. As a result, the offense continues, and the game proceeds without interruption. Understanding the nuances of frontcourt and backcourt rules helps clarify situations like these, which can often lead to confusion on the court.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy