A-2 catches A-1's throw-in airborne and lands simultaneously on both feet in the frontcourt. A-2 then steps into the backcourt. Is this a legal play according to the official?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, the action of A-2 landing simultaneously on both feet in the frontcourt while catching A-1's throw-in signifies that A-2 has established a legal position in the frontcourt. However, the crucial factor in this situation is A-2 stepping into the backcourt after having gained possession.

According to the rules, once a player catches or gains possession of the ball in the frontcourt, they cannot step back into the backcourt without first relinquishing that possession, such as by dribbling. Since A-2 steps into the backcourt immediately after catching the ball without dribbling, it results in a violation—specifically, a backcourt violation. This means that the play is not legal within the context of the game's rules.

The correct answer reflects the understanding that a player's position, where they can legally play the ball, is critical to determining the legality of their actions following a throw-in.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy