A-1's throw-in goes directly out of bounds without being touched. The official rules a throw-in violation. Is this correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The scenario describes a situation where A-1's throw-in goes directly out of bounds without being touched by any player. In basketball rules, a throw-in violation occurs when the player making the throw-in fails to execute the throw-in properly, such as throwing the ball directly out of bounds without it being touched by another player or without it entering the playing area.

In this case, since the ball went directly out of bounds without touching anyone or entering the court, it does not constitute a violation. Instead, the proper course of action would be to award the ball to the opposing team for a throw-in at the designated spot. Therefore, the ruling that a throw-in violation occurred in this scenario is incorrect.

The explanation rests on the understanding of how throw-ins are supposed to operate according to the rules, which allow the ball to be thrown in and must enter the playing area to be considered a legal throw-in. Given this, the response indicating that the original ruling was incorrect is justified based on the rules outlined for throw-ins.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy