A-1, while closely guarded in the frontcourt, holds the ball for 3 seconds and then starts a dribble. Is the official correct to start a new count?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player is closely guarded and holds the ball for three seconds, the official should begin counting the duration of that hold. However, once the player initiates a dribble, this action resets the closely guarded count. The rules state that the closely guarded count does not continue while a player is dribbling.

This means that by starting the dribble, A-1 is no longer considered to be holding the ball and is allowed to move freely. As a result, the official is correct in resetting the count to zero.

The other choices, while plausible in certain contexts, do not apply here because neither calling a timeout nor determining if the player was fouled would affect the resetting of the closely guarded count. The critical part is that the initiation of the dribble signifies a new phase of play, and thus warrants starting a new count.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy