A-1, while airborne, passes to A-2 and then fouls B-2 before returning to the floor. Is the official's ruling of team control correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In this scenario, the correct ruling regarding team control is grounded in the principle that team control exists when a player from the offense has possession of the ball or is in the act of shooting. When A-1 is airborne and passes the ball to A-2, team control remains with team A until the ball is either caught by A-2 or becomes dead due to a foul or other violation.

Since A-1 fouls B-2 before returning to the floor, the official recognizes that team A still had control of the ball at the time the foul occurred. The foul committed by A-1 is considered a team foul because the offense is in a continuous play dynamic, regardless of the fact that A-1 released the ball in a pass. This reinforces that team control exists until the passing player or another teammate loses control of the ball or a specific violation occurs.

Therefore, ruling that team control exists in this situation correctly reflects the ongoing status of the play, establishing that the foul by A-1 while still under team control directly affects the game's outcomes in accordance with the rules of basketball.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy