A-1 taps a rebound toward the basket, and while the ball is in flight, time expires. The official counts the basket. Is this correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When a player taps a rebound toward the basket and the ball is in flight as time expires, the key rule to consider is that the ball must be released before time runs out for the basket to count. In this scenario, the action of A-1 tapping the ball toward the basket is considered a shot attempt. Since the tap occurs before the end of the period and the ball is airborne when the time expires, the basket is valid if it subsequently goes in.

This situation aligns with the rules that govern when a shot is considered to be taken and when it is eligible to score. The timing of the release is crucial; as long as the ball has left the player's hands before the game clock reaches zero, the shot counts. Therefore, the official correctly counts the basket in this instance.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy