A-1 releases the ball on a throw-in just before the five second count. The official calls a five second violation while the ball is in the air. Is this correct?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

A five-second violation is defined as a situation in which a player fails to make a legal throw-in within five seconds. In this scenario, A-1 releases the ball before the five-second count expires, meaning the act of throwing the ball has begun properly.

The crucial element here is the timing of the official's count and the actual release of the ball. Since A-1 released the ball just before the official reached five seconds, and because the ball is still airborne, the violation cannot be called at that moment. The action of the ball being in the air signifies that the player has completed a legal throw-in, thus negating the five-second violation.

Therefore, the official's call of a five-second violation while the ball is in the air is incorrect. The correct ruling would recognize that the throw-in was legally executed since the player released the ball before the count reached five seconds. This determination emphasizes understanding the rules regarding throw-ins and the proper timing of actions taken during the game.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy