A-1 fumbles a pass but recovers and starts dribbling. Did the official rule it a legal play?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

In basketball, a player is allowed to recover a fumble and continue dribbling as long as certain rules are observed. When A-1 fumbles a pass, the key aspect is that they maintain possession of the ball after the recovery. The act of fumbling does not constitute a violation, and once A-1 regains control of the ball, they are allowed to start dribbling.

Legal play is established here because A-1 has not committed a traveling violation during the recovery. If A-1 simply picks up the ball after fumbling and begins to dribble, they are following the proper rules of the game. The potential involvement of B-1 attempting to steal the ball is irrelevant to the legality of A-1's dribbling after recovering from a fumble. Thus, the correct choice is that the official would rule it a legal play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy