A-1 ends his/her dribble, fumbles, recovers with both hands, and dribbles again. Is this a legal play according to the official?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

When A-1 ends his/her dribble and then fumbles the ball only to recover it with both hands, this action results in a double dribble violation. According to the official rules of basketball, a player is not allowed to dribble again after having stopped their dribble, which occurs when they have both hands on the ball. The moment A-1 fumbles and recovers the ball with both hands, it signifies that the ball is no longer being dribbled, effectively stopping the initial dribble. Dribbling again after this point is a violation.

The other options suggest scenarios that do not align with the fundamental rules regarding dribbling. The potential for legal play based on timeouts or court position is irrelevant since the primary violation occurs regardless of those factors. This ensures that understanding of the fundamental rules surrounding dribbling is crucial for both players and officials.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy