A-1 dives out of bounds and throws the ball back onto the court before recovering it. How should the official rule?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The situation described involves a player, A-1, diving out of bounds and then throwing the ball back onto the court before recovering it. According to basketball rules, a player who is out of bounds cannot be the first to touch the ball when it is thrown back onto the court. When A-1 throws the ball back into play and then attempts to recover it, this action constitutes a violation, specifically a double dribble, because A-1 is treated as having essentially violated the dribble rules by touching the ball after it was previously out of bounds.

Understanding the rules of how a player can interact with the ball while out of bounds is critical. Once a player is out of bounds, they cannot be involved in active play until they have re-established themselves in-bounds and the ball has not been thrown back to them. Thus, creating a double dribble scenario when they touch the ball after throwing it back onto the court from out of bounds.

In this case, the determination of a double dribble stands as the correct ruling, as it reflects the violation of a player re-entering the play improperly after being out of bounds.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy