A-1 dives and recovers the ball on the playing court. Does momentum causing A-1 to roll with the ball several feet constitute a traveling violation?

Study for the International Association of Approved Basketball Officials Test. Study with flashcards and multiple choice questions, each question has hints and explanations. Get ready for your exam!

The reason "No, it does not constitute a traveling violation" is the correct answer is based on the understanding of how the rules characterize player movement in relation to ball possession. In basketball, traveling is typically defined as a player taking too many steps without dribbling the ball. When A-1 dives for the ball and recovers it while rolling, the fundamental rule of possession comes into play.

In this case, as A-1 is rolling on the ground after recovering the ball, he is considered to have possession of it. The act of rolling itself does not constitute a violation unless A-1 stands up or moves without dribbling after regaining control. A player's momentum from diving does not negate possession, and therefore, A-1 is allowed to regain their feet while maintaining legal possession without being penalized for traveling.

The scenario does not fall under the criteria for a traveling violation because A-1's movements are a continuation of the play that includes regaining control of the ball, which is permissible under the rules.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy